What is a dream job anyway?

I have heard about dream jobs a few times these past few weeks. One of them was at this eerie co-op that I applied to become apart of. It was full of vegetarians/vegans who live together in a Hyde Park house, I was informed that “many” people applied to this co-op.  The week before it was so busy with house dinners with all the applicants, they had to squeeze me in the following week “if I was available”. I accepted because I was hoping that it would be less cult-y than their website made it out to be and secondly, I also wanted to see if it was cultish… would they test my breath for meat particles? Yes, I had some bacon before I went to the dinner…

I attended the dinner where I would meet someone named King but she was running late at work. I was not so much greeted at the door as I was looked at as an annoyance. I was passed off to the house member in the kitchen. They take turns cooking dinner, tonight it was this blond woman’s turn… let’s call her Kelly (I don’t remember her name). Kelly was very chipper and I thought ok, perhaps she would be more sociable than this other guy, Barry (ok I forgot his name too, damn it. I remember specifically telling them that the first time I hear someone’s name, I forget it and they did tell me their names TWICE). She asked about what I do for a living. I talked about the school I work at and my classroom of 6-7 year old rapscallions. She was into her vegetables and cursed the fact they ran out of ginger when I asked her what her current job was.

“Right now, I have my dream job!”

Cue me being wow! That’s awesome. “What’s your dream job?” I inquire innocently and super curiously. I imagine she is working at Google or maybe she earned this sweet paid-internship at a university. She tells me she is working in urban planning and I nod, a few of my friends do the same and aim for that.

“Do you know what that is?”

Blink, double blink. Yes. Yes, I do know what that is. “Ok, so I’m focusing on community solutions instead of the needs and inadequacies of our current system. In the meantime, I babysit a few kids to earn some extra cash.” I freeze remembering my days as an on-call nanny, not only was I able to wrangle complete stranger children but I learned a lot about city neighborhoods due to the fact I was smartphone-less at the time. I cringed a bit at my memories of inconsistent paychecks and also inconsistent discipline styles from parents. “Sounds cool…” I try not to pass judgment but I could hear Ned the Piemaker’s voice in my head… Oh and I saw Lee Pace’s face in my head too.

Well hot damn. What is a dream job? What is my dream job?!

Definitely wasn’t nannying. But someone like this Kelly girl was all over her dream job, easy to tell me she was doing it… What was I doing?

My best friend earned her dream job for the summer. She is going to travel across the city and give bicycle and hike tours. That is so her gig. I can barely hold myself upright on a bike and giving tours, I would go bonkers. I like being participating in the tour! I wondered, do I even have a dream job aspiration? I love writing but lately I have taken such a hiatus from it. It’s as if I scared myself off from the prospect because it just hurts to think about the constant failure I will face…

But there’s also this part of me that says I am more than that. I definitely give myself a harsher critique than my friends whom I often collaborate with. One of my good collaborators introduced me to his Marketing connections as “a great actress and an awesome writer”. Gosh, and he is hard to impress. Maybe my dream job is just a combo of my favorite things plus an island home. That’s why they’re called dream jobs right? My dream was to go to Paris and I did. I suppose that’s the thing about dreams, once achieved or once you move on from it… there’s always another around the corner. They’re fleeting. And I like that idea.

P.S. Wish me luck, I applied to a new role in my current school/organization. Good vibes all around. A little bit closer to that dream!

One thought on “What is a dream job anyway?

  1. AwkwardGirl says:

    Sometimes you don’t know what the dream job is until it lands on your doorstep. I was one thing my whole life and it’s taking years of travel and part time shit jobs to find someplace where I think I might be able to fit. It’s terrifying and it took doing something I thought I had no chance of getting to come t this point. If you quit your job now what would you do? Not what you’ve told yourself you’ve wanted to do for so long it feels like the only option.. right now, what would you want to do? It’s a start:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

